The Planned Burning Notification System (PBNS) is an opt-in system that you can customise to suit your particular notification needs. The system notifies people when a planned burn in a park or forest is close to being ignited.

We are currently updating the fire operations plan for public land in Victoria. While this update is being carried out the PBNS will not display all planned burns. A full list of our burns planned across the state will be available in the PBNS soon.

Access the planned burning notification system

The system has been designed to assist people who would like advance notice of upcoming planned burns to make informed decisions about managing the effects of planned burns.

It complements our planned burns now & next 10 days page, the VicEmergency website and VicEmergency app for information about current planned burning activity.

How it works

You can choose:

  • which planned burns to be notified about – either all burns near a location or specific burns
  • how to be notified – by SMS, email, or both
  • at what status to be notified – within the next 10 days, next 24 hours, and/or in progress.

When you subscribe to a location, the system automatically selects all current and future burns on public land within a 10 km radius of the location.

You receive a message when any burn you are subscribed to reaches a status you have nominated.

We try to make sure the information is accurate and timely – but planned burning often requires changes. For example weather conditions may mean that a burn does not proceed when expected, or that our crews may need to do further work on a burn at a later date.

Terms of use

When creating an account you will be required to agree to the terms of use of this service.

Help using the planned burning notification system

The Planned Burning Notification System is simple to use. The information below gives more information about how the system works, how to manage your account and how to personalise your notifications.

If you have difficulty, consult the trouble shooting guide . If you have further queries, contact the VicEmergency hotline.

  • Creating an account is easy and free.
  • Open the Planned Burning Notification System
  • Click on the login button on the top right hand corner to create an account, or to log in if you already have an account. As a first-time user you must create an account to subscribe to a burn.
  • Click on 'Create an account' - provide your active email address and mobile phone number. The system will send automated messages about planned burns to you at that email address and phone number.
  • You will receive a  text message and an email confirming you have successfully created an accoun

You can subscribe to burns in two ways - by location, or individual burn, or a combination of both.

Searching for a location
  • Open the Planned Burning Notification System
  • If there is a place you are interested in, such as where you live or work, type a location, town, suburb or geographic feature into the ' location' search window to display it on the map.
  • Click 'Yes, please!' to subscribe to that location. This automatically selects any burn, or part of a burn, within 10km of that location (at this step you will be prompted to log in to your account if you are not already logged in)
  • You can subscribe to more than one location (you may receive a large number of notifications if you do this)
  • Searching for a burn
  • Open the Planned Burning Notification System
  • Find an individual burn by zooming into an area of interest on the map. Or you can search for a burn by opening up the 'Burn filters' box, type in the burn's number, its name or DELWP
Selecting new burns each year
  • Every 12 months a new three-year Fire Operations Plan is released that includes additional planned burns. You will be notified by email when this occurs and invited to visit your account.
  • It is recommended that you go into your account at this time and check that your details and selected burns are still current.
  • You will automatically be subscribed to any new burns within 10km of a location you previously selected.
  • You can add new locations.
  • You can search for specific new burns of interest and select them individually.

Access your account through 'My account' after you log into the Planned Burning Notification System.

  • To change when or how you receive messages, open the Planned Burning Notification System and log in to your account.
  • Go to 'My locations' and look at the options at the bottom of the window.
  • The system automatically defaults to sending messages when a burn you select progresses to ‘within 10 days,' 'next 24hrs' and 'in progress'.
  • The system defaults to sending you  an SMS and email. To change this, tick the boxes for how you wish to receive messages.
  • Open the Planned Burning Notification System, log into your account and go to the 'My details' section. 
  • Change your mobile phone number or password in this section.
  • Remember to click 'Update my details' when you have made your changes

Your email address is your User ID – make sure you select an email address that will be used for the life of your account.

If your email address changes you will need to create a new account using your new email address and select burns and/or locations.  These selections are not transferable between accounts.

Remember to also delete your old account from the system.

If you access the Planned Burning Notification System using a mobile phone, small screens may not show all burns – and some older iPhones will not show all available status of burns. Even if your search shows 'no planned burns found', you should still sign up to locations that interest you. You will still automatically receive messages for any burn within 10 km of the selected locations.

Please note - when viewing the planned burning notification system using an Apple mobile phone with an iOS7 operating system or older, your phone will not list burns at ‘Planned’ status.  All other functionality will operate as normal.

If you no longer wish to receive notifications about planned burns you have subscribed to, you can either suspend your account or delete it.
Suspending your account

Suspending your account will temporarily stop the system sending any automated notifications about planned burns to you.

  • Log in to the Planned Burning Notification System
  • Select 'My account'
  • Select 'My locations', then tick the 'Disable notifications' box.
  • No SMS or email messages will be sent to you while the box is ticked. Any locations and burns you have subscribed to will remain in your account. Burn statuses you have selected to be notified about are also not affected.
  • To start receiving messages again, un-tick the 'Disable notifications' box AND tick the preferred channel/s (SMS, email or both). Note - if you don't tick  a preferred  channel you won't receive any messages, even if you un-tick 'Disable notifications.'
  • Automated messages that were sent while your account was disabled will not be received.
  • Deleting your account will permanently delete your account and also delete any locations or burns you to which you have subscribed.
  • A deleted account cannot be reactivated. To start receiving notifications again, you must create a new account.

If you forget your password:

  • Open the Planned Burning Notification System and click on 'Login'
  • Ask for a new password to be sent by clicking 'I forgot my password'– enter the phone number or email address where you would like the new password sent.  Please note that there is about a 10 minute time delay before the new password will work.
  • Use that new password to log into your account
  • Reset your password in the 'My details' section
  • Click 'Update my details'.

Troubleshooting guide

For further help on the Planned Burning Notification System please view the troubleshooting guide.

Trouble shooting guide [PDF File - 186.5 KB]

Trouble shooting guide (accessible version) [MS Word Document - 215.6 KB]