To ensure local communities gain greater access to available firewood into the future, changes to firewood collection regulations on public land in Central Victoria will take effect on Tuesday 1 March 2022.

Firewood central Vic rules map

Under the new changes, firewood collection from designated areas in state forests within parts of Central Victoria will be restricted to residents of specific local shires.

Visitors from interstate and other parts of Victoria, will no longer be able to access firewood from state forests in Central Victoria.

Forest Fire Management Victoria (FFMVic) Forest Planning Team Leader Amy Groch said the changes will maintain a more sustainable domestic firewood supply for local residents and communities in Central Victoria.

“While firewood is free to collect, supply is not unlimited. This means firewood needs to be managed responsibly to ensure environmental sustainability,” Ms Groch said.

“These new restrictions have been introduced following extensive community consultation.

“We want to remind the community that firewood can only be taken from designated firewood collection areas in state forests during approved Autumn and Spring collection seasons, from 1 March to 30 June and from 1 September to 30 November, respectively.

“Designated firewood collection areas are selected for a range of reasons including the availability of firewood, community safety, and to protect sites of cultural and environmental significance.”

The permitted Local Government Areas who will have access to firewood from Central Victorian state forests are Buloke Shire Council, Campaspe Shire Council, Central Goldfields Shire Council, Gannawarra Shire Council, City of Greater Bendigo, Greater Shepparton City Council, Hepburn Shire Council, Loddon Shire Council, Macedon Ranges Shire Council, Mitchell Shire Council, Mt Alexander Shire Council, Northern Grampians Shire Council, Pyrenees Shire Council and Strathbogie Shire Council.

A list of the Central Victorian state forests with the new restrictions can be found at

Restrictions are still in place for firewood collection near Cohuna. Only residents from Campaspe Shire Council, Gannawarra Shire Council, Loddon Shire Council and Swan Hill Rural City Council can collect from Gunbower State Forest.

Firewood collectors may be asked to prove their address when collecting firewood. An interactive map of designated firewood collection area locations will be available on Tuesday 1 March until 30 June at